October 19, 2018

The American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) has notified UC of its intent to strike. The strike is scheduled to begin at 4:00 a.m. on Tuesday, October 23, and end at 3:59 a.m. on Friday, October 26. We also expect the University Professional & Technical Employees (UPTE) employees to hold a sympathy strike. We offer the following information to help you plan:

September 17, 2018

After serving in senior administrative roles within the College of Letters and Science (L&S) for a decade, Carla Hesse will return to her full-time faculty position after the completion of her terms next summer.

September 12, 2018

Jennifer Wolch, the first woman to serve as dean of Berkeley’s College of Environmental Design (CED), has decided to step down next summer at the end of her second term.

September 10, 2018

Update the campus community on our response to last year’s Free Speech Commission report and recommendations.
AnnaLee (Anno) Saxenian, who has served as dean of UC Berkeley’s School of Information for nearly a decade and a half, has decided to step down and return to her full-time faculty position next summer after the conclusion of her third term.

August 27, 2018

Vice Provost of Graduate Studies and Dean of the Graduate Division Fiona Doyle has decided to retire next summer after a remarkable 36 years as a Berkeley faculty member and administrator.

August 23, 2018

Ann E. Harrison will be the next dean of the Haas School of Business.

August 20, 2018

Introducing two new campus policies – the Policy on Philanthropic Gift Fund Minima and the Policy on Payout Distribution from Endowed Chairs and Professorships.

August 16, 2018

After seven years at the helm of Berkeley’s School of Social Welfare, Jeff Edleson has made a decision to step down as dean.

August 14, 2018

As we start the fall semester, we call your attention to the following important campus policies and guidelines concerning the academic calendar­­­, academic integrity, and accommodations for students in their academic programs.

July 11, 2018

Stephen Sutton will be Berkeley’s next Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs (VCSA)

June 28, 2018

Laura D’Andrea Tyson has agreed to serve as the Interim Dean of the Haas School of Business effective July 1, 2018

June 27, 2018

Information about positive developments regarding the state budget and philanthropy – two areas where faculty, students, staff and alumni have joined forces to build support for Berkeley.

June 19, 2018

Professor Tsu-Jae King Liu, has been named the next dean of the College of Engineering (CoE)

June 18, 2018

Professor Lisa Alvarez-Cohen will be Berkeley’s next Vice Provost for Academic Planning (VP-AP).

June 12, 2018

Professor David Ackerly will be the next dean of UC Berkeley’s College of Natural Resources (CNR).

May 29, 2018

William H. Dow, will serve as Interim Dean of the School of the Public Health (SPH)

May 24, 2018

Announcing Faculty Leadership Academy - Spring 2019 Participants

May 1, 2018

The Controller’s Office is introducing a new travel reimbursement process that is intended to eliminate duplicate data entry by Campus Shared Services, shorten processing time to payment from weeks to days, and put more control of the process in the hands of employee-travelers.

April 30, 2018

Tsu-Jae King Liu, Vice Provost for Academic & Space Planning, has decided to step down this summer after completing her two-year commitment to serve in this position.